
 

 

This special newsletter is meant to update licensees regarding  Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board 
rules and Ohio Board of Pharmacy rules.  As a result of mandatory five year rule review, the OVMLB 
modified several rules that become effective September 1, 2017.  
 
MEDICAL RECORD RULE  4741-1-21 OAC 
 
The Medical Record rule was modified to clarify what needed to be documented in the medical 
record.  Rule 4741-1-21 Ohio Administrative Code (OAC ) as well as other minor amended 
rules can be found on the Board’s web site under Law and Rules.   
Rule 4741-1-21 OAC 
A. A veterinarian performing a physical examination, diagnosis, treatment or surgery on an animal or 

group of animals shall prepare a written record or computer record concerning the animals contain-
ing, at a minimum, the following information: 

 
1. Name, address, and telephone number of owner; 
2. Identity of the animal, herd, or flock 
3. Except for herds or flocks, the age, sex, color, and breed; 
4. Dates of examination, treatment and surgery; 
5. Brief history of the condition of each animal, litter, herd, or flock; 
6. Examination findings;  
7. Laboratory and radiographic tests performed and reports; 
8. Differential diagnosis; 
9. Procedures performed/treatment given and results; 

10. Drugs (and their dosages) administered, dispensed, or prescribed; 
11. Surgical procedures shall include a description of the procedure, the name of the surgeon, the type 

of sedative/anesthetic agent used, the route of administration and the dosage; and  
12. Anesthesia monitoring performed during surgical procedures. 

 
B. Individual records must be maintained on each patient, except that records on livestock or litters of 

animals may be maintained on a per-client basis. 
 
C. Medical records and radiographs are the physical property of the hospital or the proprietor of the prac-

tice that prepared them.  Records, including radiographs, must be maintained for a minimum of three 
years after the last visit.   
 

D. Medical records shall be released, upon request, from a treating veterinarian to another treating veteri-
narian, and shall be returned to the originating practice within a reasonable time, if requested.  Copies 
of records must be made available upon request from the owner of an animal at a reasonable cost to 
the owner.    

 
E. All regulated substances shall be recorded as required by federal and/or state regulations.  
 
Effective September 1, 2017 
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Amended Continuing Education Rule  4741-1-11 OAC 
 
Rule 4741-1-11 OAC was amended to eliminate the requirement for online veterinary continu-
ing education courses to be in real-time to count towards the scientific portion of the mandatory 
continuing education (CE) hours for renewal.  However, the rule implemented limitations on 
the number of hours of internet courses that can be utilized toward the renewal mandates.  In 
simple terms, no more than 6 hours of internet courses may be obtained towards the renewal 
CE requirement for a biennium.  And of those 6 hours, no more than 2 hours may be non-
scientific.  i.e The licensee may have all 6 hours of online CE in scientific hours or 4 online CE 
hours scientific and 2 CE hours on non-scientific issues.  Please review the rule carefully.  The 
CE requirement will begin with the RVT renewal in 2019.  
 



 

 

News you will find on the Ohio Board of Pharmacy web site:   
 
The Ohio Board of Pharmacy has recently published a number of guidance documents regarding recent law and rule 
changes that may pertain to your members.  They include the following: 
 
TDDD Requirements for Controlled Substances: All locations that possess controlled substances are required to obtain 
licensure as a category III terminal distributor of dangerous drugs from the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy. This requirement 
applies to all locations and includes previously exempted prescriber practices (dentist, solo-practitioners, etc.) if they possess con-
trolled substances.  The original effective date was April 6, 2017.  However at its April board meeting, the Ohio Board of Pharma-
cy adopted a resolution to extend the deadline until June 1, 2017.  Therefore, a wholesaler can sell controlled substances to any 
prescriber office during the extension period.  However after June 1, 2017, the wholesaler must verify that the prescriber is appro-
priately licensed as a Category III Terminal Distributor of Dangerous Drugs by the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. More infor-
mation on this provision can be found by visiting: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/TDDDcs. 

 
Compounded Drugs:  Effective April 1, 2017, all prescribers that possess compounded drugs or engage in the com-
pounding of dangerous drugs (i.e. prescription drugs) must obtain a license as a terminal distributor of dangerous drugs 
(ORC 4729.541). More information on this provision can be found at: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/prescribercompound.  
 
Responses to frequent questions of the Board of Pharmacy: 
Rule 4729-5-17 (Personally Furnishing) – Requires a veterinary practitioner (veterinarian, RVT, or animal aide) who 
may have access to dangerous drugs to be able to prepare medication for prescriber dispensing (also known as person-
ally furnishing). The practitioner must be able to prepare the medications as part of their scope of practice.  For exam-
ple, an animal aide is only permitted to prepare non-controlled medications and may not prepare controlled substance 
medications.  All preparation must be conducted when a prescriber is on-site.  A Veterinarian has to conduct the final 
check of the medication prior to its distribution.  Once the medications are packaged and checked, they may be provid-
ed to patients by any employee if the veterinarian is on-site.  If a Veterinarian is not on-site, only an RVT or an animal 
aide, if non-controlled drugs, to patients if the veterinarian is available for counseling via telephone.  http://
codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729-5-17  
 
Rule 4729-9-14 (Records) – This rule requires an annual inventory of all controlled substances.  It does not specify 
who must conduct the inventory.  Therefore, anyone designated by the prescriber (who orders the drugs under their 
DEA number) may perform this task, as long as a prescriber is on-site to provide supervision.  http://codes.ohio.gov/
oac/4729-9-14  
 
Rule 4729-9-11 – States the following as it relates to hypodermics: 
Hypodermics at veterinary facilities shall meet the following requirements: 
(a) During non-business hours, hypodermics shall be stored in an area secured by a physical barrier with suitable locks, 
which may include a substantially constructed cabinet, and/or an electronic barrier to deter and detect unauthorized 
access; 
(b) During normal business hours, hypodermics shall not be stored in areas where members of the public are not super-
vised by individuals authorized to administer injections.   http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729-9-11  

The Ohio Board of Pharmacy and the Veterinarian 
Veterinarians are highly encouraged to view frequently the Ohio Board of Pharmacy web site regarding proposed rules, 
guidelines, etc.  The Pharmacy Board’s web site is very informative and timely updated.  To receive updates from the 
Board of Pharmacy, sign up at: http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/RSS/Subscription.aspx  This site is found on the Board 
of Pharmacy’s home page at: :  http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/  
For questions or concerns, contact the Board of Pharmacy via email at:  http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Contact.aspx  , 

 It is renewal time for Veterinary Business Facility licenses  and Limited Veterinary Licenses.  
Veterinary Business Facility licenses expire June 1, 2017 and Limited Veterinary Licenses ex-
pire July 1, 2017.  Renewal applications were mailed out, but a blank renewal form can be found 
on the Board’s web site at www.ovmlb.ohio.gov.  


