VETERINARY MEDICAL LICENSING BOARD
COMPLAINT & INVESTIGATION PROCESS
Section 4741.26 of the Ohio Revised Code requires the Ohio Veterinary Medical
Licensing Board to make investigations of valid written complaints which violate
the laws and rules governing the practice of veterinary medicine.
to file a complaint:
law, the Board must receive the complaint in writing. The complaint form can be
found on the Board's web site at: www.ovmlb.ohio.gov
or requested to be mailed by calling 614-644-5281. The complaint form can be returned
to The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, 77 South High St., 16th Floor,
Columbus, OH 43215-6108, faxed to 614-644-9038 or emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please include copies of any relevant documentation with your complaint.
complainant may file the complaint anonymously. However, as a result of the anonymity,
it may make it difficult to conduct a thorough investigation without the ability
to contact you.
maintain confidentiality and to ensure that every complaint brought to the Board's
attention is reviewed, each complaint is assigned a case number upon receipt.
After the Board office receives your complaint, you will receive written confirmation
from the Board that your complaint was received. However, all information related
to the Board investigation remains confidential. Identifying information related
to the practitioner and the veterinary facility are redacted prior to the Board
note that the Board only has the legal authority to investigate cases that indicate
there has been a violation of the law or rules governing the practice of veterinary
medicine. For instance, the Board does not have jurisdiction over fees, boarding/grooming
facilities, breeders, "bedside manner", refusal to provide a prescription,
business practices or attempts to collect a debt.
it is determined that the Board has jurisdiction of a complaint, the Board will
then make one of the following determinations of the complaint:
Close the case due to no violation of law and rules;
the board staff to obtain the medical records, statement of the licensee implicated,
and any other documentation; or
further investigation which may entail interviews, inspections, etc.
not contact an individual board member about your complaint. If you contact a
board member about your complaint, the board member must excuse himself/herself
from any discussion and/or vote on your complaint.
the investigative report/medical record/radiograph or submitted document is reviewed
by the board members, the board will determine whether there is a violation of
the law and rules governing veterinary medicine and take appropriate action if
necessary affording the licensee due process rights in accordance with the law
(Section 119 ORC). If the Board makes a motion to charge the licensee for a violation
and it is approved, a notice of such will be sent to the licensee. The licensee
will have 30 days in which to request a hearing.
a hearing is requested, a hearing is scheduled before a Hearing Officer. Please
keep in mind that the complainant may be issued a subpoena and be required to
testify. In the event that a request for a hearing is not received within the
30-day period, the Board may schedule a hearing to present evidence and witnesses,
citing Goldman v. State Medical Board of Ohio (1996), 110 Ohio App.3d 124, 673
the hearing, the Hearing Officer issues a Report and Recommendation to the Board.
A copy of the Report and Recommendation is also sent to the licensee. The licensee
is given 10 days from the receipt of the Report and Recommendation to submit any
objections. The Board then reviews the Report and Recommendation and any objections
filed by the licensee and either approves, disapproves or modifies the Report
and Recommendation. The Board decides on the appropriate disciplinary action and
issues an Adjudication Order. The Adjudication Order may be appealed in the Court
of Common Pleas of the licensee's county of residence or business.
of cases and any disciplinary action taken are posted on the Board's
web site and in the Board minutes.
Once the Board
has made a final determination of a case, the documents are subject
to the public records law