Ohio have a state exam that a candidate must pass for licensure?
For a veterinary license, a candidate must pass the North American
Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE). For a veterinary technician
registration, a candidate must pass the Veterinary Technician
National Examination (VTNE).
foreign veterinary graduates eligible for licensure in Ohio
prior to receiving ECFVG or PAVE certification?
No. A foreign graduate must complete steps 1, 2, 3 & 4 of
the ECFVG or PAVE program to become licensed.
a foreign graduate work as a registered veterinary technician?
do I contact to transfer my national test scores?
The Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA):
can apply for a Veterinary License by Reciprocity?
candidate who currently holds a valid unencumbered license in
is a Letter of Good Standing?
letter that is produced by a State Veterinary Licensing Board
stating whether any disciplinary action was ever taken on your
current or expired veterinary license in that state and the
status of that license (active/expired/suspended/etc.). A letter
of good standing is required from each and every state that
you have ever been licensed.
can I request a Letter of Good Standing from the Ohio Board?
will need to complete a request for licensure verification form
which can be found under the 'forms' tab on our website; stating
your full name, current address and license #; you will also
need to include the name and address of the State Board where
the form needs to be mailed. This request can be emailed, faxed
or mailed to the OVMLB. The Ohio Board does not charge a fee
for this service.
can I request another copy of my license or wall certificate?
will need to complete a request for a duplicate wall certificate
form which can be found under the 'forms' tab on our website;
requesting a duplicate paper license and/or a duplicate wall
certificate. There is no charge for a duplicate paper license.
However, there is a $35.00 fee for a duplicate wall certificate
(suitable for framing). Checks are to be made payable to the
Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board.
I get married or divorced and change my name, do I need to request
a new license and purchase a new wall certificate?
should notify the OVMLB by submitting a change of name/address
form which can be found under the 'forms' tab on our website.
You are not required to purchase a new wall certificate. However,
if you would like a new wall certificate to reflect your current
name, you will need to complete/submit a duplicate wall certificate
form to the OVMLB and include the $35.00 fee, made payable to
the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board.
a candidate eligible to become a Registered Veterinary Technician
in Ohio by working under a veterinarian for a specific period
No. To become
a Registered Veterinary Technician, a candidate must have a
degree in Animal Health Technology from and approved accredited
school and meet all requirements by the Ohio Board.
- I have
a new address. Can I contact the OVMLB via telephone with these
Address changes must be in written form. Please complete/submit
a change of name/address form which can be found under the 'forms'
tab on our website. You can email, fax or mail the form.
- If I
have a felony, can I still get a license?
that the Board staff routinely receives revolves around the
same issue: What misdemeanors or felonies will disallow an
applicant from receiving a license or registration? The answer
is generally that the Board is sympathetic to their plight,
however the Board staff cannot provide a firm answer. A misdemeanor
or felony conviction does not automatically disqualify an
applicant from obtaining a license. Please note, however,
that a felony conviction involving physical violence or drugs
will be reviewed more carefully by the Board members.
At the time that the applicant submits their application for
licensure or registration, the Board will review the circumstances
surrounding the conviction and any other mitigating factors
as determined by the Board members sitting on the Board. The
Board members serve for three year periods and those terms
are staggered. Therefore, the Board may have different members
serving each year. Those members may have different views
than the ones serving today. As a result, the Board cannot
comment on what a Board will decide regarding the application
submitted for license or registration in the future.
In some circumstances, the Board may license an individual,
but enter into a Consent Agreement where they would place
practice restrictions on the individual for a probationary
period. It is always best to be truthful with the Board and
provide as much information that might be helpful to the Board
in making an informed decision.
often do licenses or registrations have to be renewed?
a biennial basis. Veterinarians must renew by March 1st in even numbered years.
Technicians must renew by March 1st in odd numbered years.
What is the grace period for renewal after March 1st?
The license or registration expires on March 1st, practicing after that expiration
constitutes "practicing with an expired license", which is a violation
of Revised Code Section 4741.19.
Are Continuing Education hours required for a first renewal?
Do all of the Continuing Education hours have to be in a scientific seminar setting?
10 of the required 30 hours can be unscientific, autotutorial - journals, videos,
computer training, and/or office management.
4 of the required 10 hours can be unscientific, autotutorial - journals, videos,
computer training, and/or office management.
is based hour for hour. If a lecture is one hour, it meets the requirement for
one continuing education hour.
Can an expired license always be brought current by renewal?
Once a license or registration has been expired for four years, it becomes null
and void. A new application would need to be submitted with all of the required
documents and a new license would be