blank
   
  Board Information
  Complaint Information
  Compliance Inspection
  Continuing Education
  Criminal Background Info.
Discipline
  Examination Process
  Important News
  FAQs
  Forms
  Guidelines
  Laws and Rules
  License Verification
  Meetings and Agendas
  Military
  On-line Renewal
  Pharmacy Regulations
  Policies
  Publications
  Resources
  RVT/Animal Aid Duties
  Student Loan Program
  Technician Registration
  Veterinary Licenses
   
  Home Page

 

How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Medical License by Examination:

A.) If you are a student or graduate of an AVMA accredited veterinary college or Ross University:

  1. Complete the State of Ohio application for a Veterinary License by Examination. The application needs to have proper notarization and a recent photograph attached.

  2. The Ohio Board must receive directly from the college/university an official copy of your transcript with the appropriate college seal and a photocopy of your diploma.

  3. If you are soon to graduate, or are a recent graduate (same year as application) and the final transcript and copy of your diploma are not yet available, you may have the dean of your college submit a letter to the Ohio Board attesting to your pending/recent graduation. The letter must include the exact date of graduation. The official transcript and copy of your diploma will need to be received by the Ohio Board within six weeks of your graduation.

  4. Three letters of personal reference must be submitted to the Ohio Board. These letters should comment on your moral character from any adult who has known you for at least one year, but is not a member of your family.

  5. If you have held or currently hold a license to practice veterinary medicine in any other state or country, you must request from the veterinary board of each and every state or province a certificate of licensure be mailed directly to the Ohio Board. LICENSURE CERTIFICATION

  6. You must have passed the NBE and CCT examinations with a 75.0, or above OR the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) with a 75.0, or above. These scores must be transferred to the Ohio Board by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards', Veterinary Information Verifying Ageny (VIVA): P.O. Box 801618, Kansas City, MO 64180-1614, phone: 877-698-8482 or 816-931-1504. These scores must be received before the Ohio Board will review an application.

  7. You must complete both an Ohio criminal background check and an FBI criminal background check, conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I). CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK FAQ'S

  8. Submit the required fee in the form of a cashier's check or money order (personal checks will not be accepted):

    On or after the first day of March in even numbered years = $375.00
    On or after the first day of March in odd numbered years = $250.00

B.) If you are a graduate from a foreign school:

  1. Ohio requires that all foreign graduates complete the AVMA ECFVG program (Steps 1, 2, 3 & 4) in order to be eligible for licensure in Ohio. The Ohio Board must receive a letter directly from the ECFVG Committee confirming your completion of the program and a copy of your certificate of completion.

  2. You are also required to complete the requirements listed above in Section A: 1, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8.

DOWNLOAD APPLICATION FOR VETERINARY LICENSE BY EXAMINATION

 

state home
privacy policy