blank
   
  Board Information
  Complaint Information
  Compliance Inspection
  Continuing Education
  Criminal Background Info.
Discipline
  Examination Process
  Important News
  FAQs
  Forms
  Guidelines
  Laws and Rules
  License Verification
  Meetings and Agendas
  Military
  On-line Renewal
  Pharmacy Regulations
  Policies
  Publications
  Resources
  RVT/Animal Aid Duties
  Student Loan Program
  Technician Registration
  Veterinary Licenses
   
  Home Page

How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary License by Reciprocity


The Board may issue a Licensure by Reciprocity without the examination requirement to an applicant from another state or country if all of the following requirements are met. If you do not meet the following requirements within six (6) months of the Board receiving your application, your application will be considered incomplete and returned to you. Please note: your application fee still remains non-refundable. You will be required to resubmit your application and application fee once you have met all requirements.

You must submit all requirements with the exception of the background checks with your application.

The Following must be submitted with this completed application:

A) You must be a graduate from an AVMA approved college or have completed the ECFVG or PAVE program. An official copy of your transcript must be submitted to the Ohio Board with your application in a sealed envelope from the veterinary college granting your degree. If you are a foreign veterinary graduate, a copy of your ECFVG or PAVE program certificate completion (Steps 1, 2, 3 & 4) must be submitted to the Ohio Board.

B) You must hold a valid, current, unencumbered license from another state. You must have the veterinary board of each and every state or province that you have been licensed in provide you with certification of licensure. The certification of licensure must be submitted with your application in the sealed envelope from the veterinary board in which it was received.

C) You must notify the Ohio Board if you are under investigation for an act that constitutes a violation of Chapter 4741 of the Ohio Revised Code.

D) Submit a fee in the form of a cashier's check or money order made payable to the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board: even numbered years = $425.00; odd numbered years = $300.00. You must include your full name on your check or money order to avoid having your application returned to you. Do NOT send cash or credit card information. Please keep a record of this payment the Ohio Board does NOT provide a receipt of payment.



A) You must complete both an Ohio criminal background check and an FBI criminal background check, conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). The results must be forwarded to the Ohio Board directly from BCI.


For further information regarding the Criminal Background check: http://www.ovmlb.ohio.gov/bkchk.stm


 

state home
privacy policy