blank
   
  Address Change
  Board Information
  Complaint Information
  Complaint Process
  Compliance Inspection
  Continuing Education
  Criminal Background Info.
  Examination Process
  Important News
  FAQs
  Guidelines
  Laws and Rules
  License Verification
  Meetings and Agendas
  Military
  Name Change
  On-line Renewal
  Pharmacy Regulations
  Policies
  Publications
  Resources
  RVT/Animal Aid Duties
  Student Loan Program
  Technician Registration
  Veterinary Licenses
   
  Home Page


Registered Veterinary Technician Licensing Requirements


You must meet the following requirements to receive an Ohio veterinary license. If you do not meet the following requirements within six (6) months of the Board receiving your application, your application will be considered incomplete. Please note: your application fee still remains non-refundable. You will be required to resubmit your application and application fee once you have met all requirements.

  • You must be a graduate from an AVMA approved veterinary technology program. https://www.avma.org/ProfessionalDevelopment/Education/Pages/default.aspx

  • You must request an official copy of your transcripts be sent to the Ohio Board.

  • You must pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and have your passing scores transferred to the Ohio Board. If you took the test in Ohio within the last 3 years the board will already have a copy of your score.

  • Submit a fee: even numbered years = $25.00; odd numbered years = $35.00. All applications will be charged a $3.50 transaction fee as well.

  • You must provide a picture of yourself. Any picture where your face can be clearly seen is acceptable.

  • You must complete both an Ohio criminal background check and an FBI criminal background check, conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). The results must be forwarded to the Ohio Board directly from BCI. For more information on the Board's requirements, please visit the Background Check Requirements page on their website (http://ovmlb.ohio.gov/bkchk.stm).

  • You must provide official court documentation and a writtenstatement explaining criminal charges if applicable.

To begin the application process go to: https://elicense.ohio.gov/OH_HomePage
click Login/Create Your Account

state home
privacy policy