blank
   
  Board Information
  Complaint Information
  Compliance Inspection
  Continuing Education
  Criminal Background Info.
Discipline
  Examination Process
  Important News
  FAQs
  Forms
  Guidelines
  Laws and Rules
  License Verification
  Meetings and Agendas
  Military
  On-line Renewal
  Pharmacy Regulations
  Policies
  Publications
  Resources
  RVT/Animal Aid Duties
  Student Loan Program
  Technician Registration
  Veterinary Licenses
   
  Home Page

Veterinary License Renewal Information

A license to practice veterinary medicine issued by the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board expires biennially on the first day of March in even-numbered years.

Each individual who holds a valid license will receive a renewal application in the mail in January in even-numbered years with instructions to renew their license. Thirty (30) hours of continuing education is required to renew a license. If this is the licensee's first renewal period, they are exempt from submitting continuing education. The renewal fee is as follows:

Postmarked prior to March 1 = $155.00
Postmarked after March 1 but prior to April 1 = $225.00
Postmarked after April 1 = $450.00

A license will automatically go into 'expired' status if not renewed. An expired license may be reactivated upon application to the board. An individual is prohibited from practicing veterinary medicine on an expired license. A license that is in 'expired' status for more than four (4) years becomes void and that individual will be required to reapply for an Ohio license and meet all of the standard requirements.

state home
privacy policy